The Best Ever Championship Winners - Ranked

19 July 2020 04:45

Leeds United are finally set to return to the Premier League, after a stellar year in the Championship that saw Marcelo Bielsa's side reign supreme over the competition.

The Whites are on course to finish the season with a maximum of 93 points, an impressive tally to go with an impressive season. However, it is not one that would even finish in the top five highest-scoring Championship seasons ever.

Here are the five best-ever Championship winners by overall points tally, since the competition was rebranded in 2004/05.

5. Newcastle United - 94 Points (2016/17)

Rafa Benitez led Newcastle to a Premier League return at the first time of asking

Following their relegation from the Premier League in 2016, world renowned manager Rafa Benitez - a Champions League, Europa League and La Liga winner - stayed on as Newcastle manager to the surprise of many and guided the Magpies straight back to the top flight.

With Dwight Gayle leading the front line with 23 goals, Newcastle marched straight back to the Premier League as champions, despite Brighton pushing them all the way to the end.

The Magpies actually lost 10 times but won 29 and drew seven, scoring 85 as they finished nine points clear of the playoffs.

4. Wolves - 99 Points (2017/18)

Nuno Espirito Santo's side may very well be the most talented side in Championship history

Despite finishing 15th the previous season, a new-look Wolves took the Championship by storm in the 2017/18 season and ran riot on their way to promotion.

With Nuno Espirito Santo at the helm, the Black Country-Portugal fusion club terrorised the division and played some of the best football ever seen outside of the Premier League.

With Ruben Neves, Diogo Jota and Willy Boly all arriving that season, Wolves excellent recruitment (aided by super-agent Jorge Mendes) was largely responsible for the side winning the league.

Having dominated the Championship, Wolves have only gone from strength to strength since their promotion and are on track to secure European football for the second straight season.

3. Leicester City - 102 Points (2013/14)

Leicester's Championship winning side featured a lot of the faces that would go on to win the Premier League with the Foxes

The first side to crack 100 points on our list, Leicester's Championship-winning side of 2014 featured a lot of the same players who would go on to win the Premier League with the Foxes just two short years later.

The likes of Kasper Schmeichel, Wes Morgan, Riyad Mahrez and, of course, Jamie Vardy pushed Leicester towards promotion and Nigel Pearson's men never looked back, finishing nine points ahead of second-placed Burnley.

The Foxes scored 83 times, as they racked up 31 wins from 46.

2. Newcastle - 102 Points (2009/10)

An emerging Andy Carroll led Newcastle back to the Premier League with 17 league goals

The second Newcastle side to make our list, the Magpies just beat out Nigel Pearson's Leicester to silver due to their superior goal difference (+55 to +40).

Following relegation from the Premier League in 2009 in a state of disarray, Chris Hughton performed a miracle to make sure Newcastle's Championship stay was short-lived, returning to the promised land at the first attempt.

With Kevin Nolan and an emerging Andy Carroll leading the front lines for the Magpies, Newcastle finished 11 points clear of West Brom in second, ensuring they were promoted in style.

1. Reading - 106 Points (2005/06)

No one has replicated the dominance Reading displayed throughout the 2005/06 season

Undoubtedly the greatest campaign in the Championship's history goes to the 2005/06 Reading side that ran rampant on the division.

Finishing on a breathtaking 106 points, the Royals finished 14 points clear of second-placed Sheffield United, 25 clear of the playoffs and scored an incredible 99 goals in total.

Despite losing the first game of the season, Reading would only lose once more in the league throughout the rest of the campaign and Steve Coppell's side embarked on the greatest Championship season ever seen.

With Dave Kitson, Kevin Doyle, Leroy Lita and Steve Sidwell all hitting double figures goals scored, Reading set a standard of Championship quality that has yet to be seen again.

Source: 90min