Schoolboy Gorman set for NI debut

26 May 2010 08:09
Schoolboy Johnny Gorman is one of five players handed their Northern Ireland debuts by Nigel Worthington for the friendly clash with Turkey.

The Sheffield-born Wolves midfielder, given leave from his A-level studies to go on tour, is set for his first cap at the age of 17 on the left side of a five-man midfield named by the Northern Ireland manager for the game in Connecticut on Wednesday.

"He captures people's imagination because he's so young, he's at Repton School in England and he's a very bright boy," Worthington said.

"I've watched him a couple of times in practice sessions prior to this tour and he's caught my eye so I thought it was an ideal opportunity to bring him along and work with him closely.

"He's done nicely the couple of days we've been here and I've no qualms about putting him in."

Worthington will also hand debuts to Linfield's goalkeeper Alan Blayney and midfielders Robert Garrett and Jamie Mulgrew as well as Portadown's Kevin Braniff.

Motherwell centre back Stephen Craigan will captain the side on his 47th international appearance with Worthington also declaring all 17 squad members would be given a run in the Connecticut afternoon heat.

"If you look at the group that's here, it's split in three," Worthington said. "There's a group of young ones, there's a group of Irish League players and then you've got some of your normal, senior squad.

"So it's a case of blooding some of the young ones, giving them some experience; it's a great opportunity for the Irish League players who've done very well for their clubs throughout the season and playing against Turkey tomorrow, it's a great game."

Northern Ireland:

A Blayney (Linfield), A Little (Rangers), R McGivern (Manchester City), G McAuley (Ipswich Town), S Craigan (Motherwell) - captain; R Garrett (Linfield), C Evans (Manchester United), K Braniff (Portadown), J Mulgrew (Linfield), J Gorman (Wolverhampton); R Patterson (Coleraine)

Substitutes: M McGovern (Ross County), C Coates (Crusaders), R McArdle (Rochdale), M Bryan (Watford), J Magennis (Cardiff City), W Feeney (Cardiff City), J Lawrie (Port Vale).

Source: Team_Talk