skip to content

Wigan forward McManaman escapes FA punishment

19 Mar 2013 16:17:14

Wigan forward McManaman escapes FA punishment

Wigan forward Callum McManaman has escaped any retrospective action from the Football Association following his studs-up challenge on Newcastle's Massadio Haidara.

The FA confirmed that the incident was seen by at least one of the match officials - even though referee Mark Halsey was unsighted - meaning that retrospective action cannot be taken.

Haidara suffered potentially serious knee ligament damage after the challenge by 21-year-old McManaman, but no action was taken against the Wigan player during the match.

The FA said in a statement: "The FA can confirm that no action can be taken against Wigan's Callum McManaman retrospectively following his side's game against Newcastle United on Sunday 17 March 2013.

"Following consultation with the game's stakeholders (the Premier League, the Football League, the Professional Footballers' Association, the League Managers' Association, Professional Game Match Officials Limited and the National Game) in the summer, it was agreed that retrospective action should only be taken in respect of incidents which have not been seen by the match officials.

"Where one of the officials has seen a coming together of players, no retrospective action should be taken, regardless of whether he or she witnessed the full or particular nature of the challenge. This is to avoid the re-refereeing of incidents.

"In the case of Callum McManaman, it has been confirmed that at least one of the match officials saw the coming together, though not the full extent of the challenge. In these circumstances retrospective action cannot be taken.

"The principal objective behind the not seen policy is to address off-the-ball incidents where match officials are unlikely to be in a position to witness misconduct."

Newcastle's managing director Derek Llambias expressed disappointment at the FA's decision and said the club would make approaches to change the disciplinary process.

He said in a statement: "We are disappointed to learn that the FA is not going to charge the Wigan player. It is clear from this decision that the current disciplinary procedures are not fit for purpose. Newcastle United, along with other clubs, have had players suspended for incidents reviewed after the game. Whilst not trivialising these incidents, they were not, in our opinion, of the seriousness of Callum McManaman's tackle on Haidara."


PA

Sponsored links

advertisement

Related Wigan Athletic News

advertisement

advertisment