skip to content

Ukraine shot was a goal - referee's chief

20 Jun 2012 14:17:57

Ukraine shot was a goal - referee's chief

UEFA's chief refereeing officer Pierluigi Collina on Wednesday said that a Ukraine effort ruled out against England in their final Euro 2012 Group D match for not crossing the line should have been given.

"The ball crossed the line. That was unfortunate," Collina told a news conference in the Polish capital, Warsaw, the day after the match in Donetsk that England won 1-0.

Collina blamed human error for the call but said two similar decisions in the 24 matches so far played in the tournament had been correct, adding: "The third, unfortunately, was wrong."


AFP

Sponsored links