PFA Young Player Of The Year 2013 Nominees Announced

19 April 2013 12:06

The season is drawing to a close and the nominees for the 2013 PFA Young Player of the Year have officially been announced.

The PFA Young Player of the Year is an annual award given to the player aged 23 or under at the start of the season who is adjudged to have been the best of the year across all the professional leagues in England. There has been no shortage of worthy contenders, however six names have now been short-listed as stand-out performers this season.

Tottenham Hotspurs Gareth Bale, a previous winner in 2011 has been nominated for both Players' Player and Young Player of the Year. He is joined by Chelsea's Eden Hazard who is also nominated in both categories for the prestigious award.

On-loan Chelsea forward Romelu Lukaku is nominated for the Young Players award after an impressive spell at West Brom.

Manchester United's Danny Welbeck is nominated for the second successive season in this category after impressing for The Reds, most notably against Real Madrid in the Champions League.

Aston Villa's Christian Benteke and Arsenal's Jack Wilshere complete the list for the Young Player of The Year award.

Nominations for PFA Young Player of the Year 2013

Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur)

Christian Benteke (Aston Villa)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)

Danny Welbeck (Manchester United)

Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)

Source: DSG

World Cup Group G

Belgium 1 0 0 3 3
England 1 0 0 1 3
Tunisa 0 0 1 -1 0
Panama 0 0 1 -3 0
Last updated : 16:17