Phillips, Gabbiadini, Quinn And Now Mignolet

25 February 2013 12:43
Simon Mignolet has joined the list of Sunderland legends to have won the North East Football Writers' Association Player of the Year award.

The Black Cats keeper beat off competition from Magpies Tim Krul, Demba Ba, Fabricio Collocini and Hatem Ben Arfa to win the prestigious award.

And in doing so he joined a list of Sunderland stars like Kevin Phillips, Niall Quinn, Thomas Sorensen and Marco Gabbiadini in being recognised as the North East’s outstanding performer across 2012.

Simon Mignolet: “If you can be added to that list, then you’re a very proud man.

“I’m very pleased to be presented with the award and if you can earn this sort of recognition as a goalkeeper as well, then it makes it even more special.

“When you see the names that are on the trophy, then you can only be very proud to see your name added to them.

“It’s huge recognition and to be voted for by the journalists as well was something I wasn’t expecting at this stage of my career.”

Source: Sunderland-Mad