World Cup 2014 - 8 days to go: Number of winners

04 June 2014 09:52

The World Cup in Brazil is the 20th staging of the FIFA World Cup since 1930 and only Brazil have competed in every one of them, winning 25% with their five wins. Only eight teams have ever won the title with Italy winning 4, Germany 3, Argentina and Uruguay 2 times and France, England and Spain once each. Even if you discount the old era with its dubious World representation you are still left with the same eight teams.

Europe currently leads in winners from Confederations with EUFA on 10 wins and 15 runners-up and CONMEBOL with 9 wins and 4 runners-up.

The most successful team never to win is Netherlands who have been runners-up on three occasions although Germany have finished second on four occasions.

Spain will go into the 2014 World Cup with the opportunity to make history with back-to-back wins in Europe and the World. No-one has ever retained the World Championship but the world number one status counts for very little in a knock-out competition. Spain will kick off their defence against the Netherlands on the 13th June.

Source: DSG