Johnstone's Paint Trophy First Round Draw Details Confirmed

07 July 2011 11:17
MK Dons. It could be Barnet, Brentford, Colchester United, Crawley Town, Dagenham & Redbridge, Leyton Orient or Milton Keynes Dons. Robins of Swindon get a bye. Sadly no bye into the second round, so we could face the Borient again, or the Farmers, but please not the Franchise away, horrible memories! (EEB wants Brentford away, for the beer!)The draw is due to take place on the morning of Saturday, August 13th on Sky Sports' Soccer AM with teams as usual split into the four sections of South West, South East, North West and North East. Last season we beat Gillingham at Roots Hall, ex-Captain Kevin Maher and all, 4-2 on penalties after a goalless game, Kev actually scored his but departed keeper Rhys Evans made a double save against two of his teammates to knock them out. (Match report; The Shrimpers were then in the second round of the competition for third and fourth tier clubs for the first time since 2005, after Tilly had guided them to two successive Cardiff finals earlier on in the decade when it was known as the LDV Vans Trophy. And with ten men, Bilel seeing red but Patters getting a brace, what ever happened to him, we saw off the Bees of Barnet. (Match report; A night rembered by the travelling faithful as the one that Louie Soares scored. The next round, southern section quarter-final, was the one that ended it all when the Charlton came to town, along with Alan McCormack and Simon Francis starting in the side, and Paul Benson on the bench, and won 1-0 thanks to a first-half Therry Racon strike. The Adddicks were fifth in League One at the time, so an honourable defeat in front of a good 4,373 Roots Hall crowd. (Match report; It all adds up to the Shrimpers facing, home or away but a winner must be decided on the night, one of Barnet, Brentford, Colchester United, Crawley Town, Dagenham & Redbridge, Leyton Orient, Milton Keynes Dons in the first round, due to be played the week commencing August 29th, but likely to be Tuesday, August 30th with a 19.45 kick-off. First Round ByesNorthern Section - Chesterfield, Macclesfield Town, Morecambe, Notts County, Oldham Athletic, Preston North End, Rochdale, Rotherham United.Southern Section - AFC Wimbledon, Aldershot Town, Charlton Athletic, Gillingham, Oxford United, Stevenage, Swindon Town, Yeovil Town.First Round Draw Groupings Southern Section - WestAFC Bournemouth, Bristol Rovers, Cheltenham Town, Exeter City, Hereford United, Plymouth Argyle, Torquay United, Wycombe Wanderers.Southern Section - EastBarnet, Brentford, Colchester United, Crawley Town, Dagenham & Redbridge, Leyton Orient, Milton Keynes Dons, Southend United. Northern Section - WestAccrington Stanley, Bury, Carlisle United, Crewe Alexandra, Port Vale, Shrewsbury Town, Tranmere Rovers, Walsall.Northern Section - EastBradford City, Burton Albion, Hartlepool United, Huddersfield Town, Northampton Town, Scunthorpe United, Sheffield United, Sheffield Wednesday.JPT Round DatesRound One - w/c August 29th (draw date August 13th; Sky Sports 1)Round Two - w/c October 3rd (draw date September 3rd TBC)Area Quarter-Finals - w/c November 7th (draw date October 8th TBC)Area Semi-Finals - w/c December 5th (draw date November 12th TBC)Area Final First Leg - w/c January 16th (draw in house following Area Semi-Finals)Area Final Second Leg - w/c February 6thFinal - Sunday March 25th 2012 (at Wembley)