Bye Bye Blades

31 July 2012 03:06
Sheffield United have been handed a bye in the first round of this seasons Johnstone's Paint Trophy along with Doncaster Rovers and Bradford City.

The Blades were knocked out of last seasons competition by League Two side Bradford City on penalties in the third round after seeing off Burton Albion and Rotherham United, both played away from home and ending in a positive 2-1 victory. Boss Danny Wilson was keen to win last seasons trophy and I am sure he will have his eye on the prize again.

The draw for the first round takes place on Saturday, 11th August on the day United face Burton Albion in the Capital One Cup at the Lane; but Sheffield United won't be involved in the draw as them, and fifteen further sides have all been handed a bye.

The draws are separated into four sections depending on your geographical location, therefore you are always guaranteed to face a local side when the draws are made, the sections are as follows.

Northern Section - West: Accrington Stanley, Carlisle United, Fleetwood Town, Morcambe, Port Vale, Preston North End, Tranmere Rovers, Rochdale.

Northern Section - East: Burton Albion, Chesterfield, Coventry City, Notts County, Oldham Athletic, Rotherham United, Scunthorpe United, York City.

Southern Section - West: AFC Bournemouth, Aldershot Town, Bristol Rovers, Exeter City, Oxford United, Portsmouth, Swindon Town, Yeovil Town.

Southern Section - East: AFC Wimbledon, Crawley Town, Dagenham & Redbridge, Gillingham, MK Dons, Northampton Town, Stevenage, Southend United.

As previously mentioned, 16 teams have been handed a bye, these are; Bradford City, Bury, Crewe Alexandra, Doncaster Rovers, Hartlepool United, Sheffield United, Shrewsbury Town, Walsall, Barnet, Brentford, Cheltenham Town, Colchester United, Leyton Orient, Plymouth Argyle, Torquay United and Wycombe Wanderers are all exempt from the competition.


Trending on the forum