Iron release 10 players

09 May 2012 10:03
Cliff Byrne, the Scunthorpe captain, is one of 10 players released by the club on Wednesday. Josh Lillis, Andy Wright, Eddie Nolan, Sam Togwell, Cliff Byrne, Michael O'Connor, Jordan Robertson, Garry Thompson, Aaron Wint and Ashley Palmer have also gone.All 10 were out-of-contract this summer, but the club had options to extend Lilis, Palmer, Thompson, Togwell, Wint and Wright's stays at the club by a further 12 months.Bobby Grant is the only out-of-contract player kept on, with the club taking up the option to keep him for another season.