Scotland under-21 squad announced

24 August 2010 01:00

Celtic winger James Forrest has been included in the Scotland Under-21 squad for the decisive qualifiers against Belarus and Austria.

The 19-year-old, who is uncapped at Under-21 level, marked his impressive first league start for Celtic with a goal in Sunday's 4-0 win over St Mirren. Forrest was named in Billy Stark's squad for the first time for the friendly against Sweden earlier this month but had to pull out after being hit by a virus.

"He has been with us consistently through Under-19s and he played at 17 so we know what he is capable of," Stark said.

"He has now shown at SPL level that he can be a problem for teams.

"It was always my intention to get him in there as soon as we could and we're delighted to name him."

Forrest's Under-19 team-mates, Steven Saunders and Danny Wilson, both retain their places after making their debuts in the 1-1 draw with the Swedes at St Mirren Park.

Stark has been able to recall three key midfielders - Huddersfield's Scott Arfield, Preston's Paul Coutts and Stephen McGinn of Watford - after Carling Cup commitments ruled them out of the Sweden clash.

Stark also has Dundee striker Leigh Griffiths and Swindon defender Paul Caddis available again while David Goodwillie is in the squad after missing the Sweden game through injury. Scotland face Belarus away on September 3 before their final group game against leaders Austria at Pittodrie four days later.

Scotland Under-21 squad for the UEFA Under-21 Championship qualifiers against Belarus and Austria on September 3 and September 7 respectively:

Jamie Barclay (Falkirk), Scott Gallacher (Rangers - on loan to Forfar) Alan Martin (Leeds - on loan to Barrow); Paul Caddis (Swindon), Paul Hanlon (Hibernian), Jason Marr (Celtic - on loan to Falkirk), Ross Perry (Rangers), Steven Saunders (Motherwell), Thomas Scobbie (Falkirk), Daniel Wilson (Liverpool); Scott Arfield (Huddersfield), Barry Bannan (Aston Villa), Paul Coutts (Preston), Murray Davidson (St Johnstone), Stephen McGinn (Watford), Andrew Shinnie (Rangers), David Wotherspoon (Hibernian); James Forrest (Celtic), David Goodwillie (Dundee Utd), Leigh Griffiths (Dundee), Chris Maguire (Aberdeen), Jamie Murphy (Motherwell).

Source: PA