Danny Wilson Hits The Wrong Note

04 September 2011 11:31
Nobody wants to be blamed for giving away a penalty Danny Wilson does not want to be remembered as the guy who cost costing Scotland victory over the Czech Republic, but insists the referee should hold his hand up. Craig Levein's men looked on course for a 2-1 win as the EURO2012 qualifying game was drawing to a close when Darren Fletcher scored late on after Kenny Miller's opener was cancelled out by Jaroslav Plasil. However, fate was due to play it's hand and Dutch referee Kevin Blom pointed to the spot in the last minute when Wilson takled Jan Rezek in the box. The benefit of replays suggested Wilson was unlucky (as in he never touched the Czech) and that Rezek may have gone to ground easily. Wilson said: "We are all disappointed with the result and I'm really disappointed. I wanted to apologise to the lads for giving away a penalty but it wasn't a penalty. I just feel gutted. I feel like it's my fault because it's not going to be remembered as the bad decision by the ref, it's going to be remembered as me giving away the penalty. We were in the driving seat after getting another goal and unfortunately the referee gave the penalty. I didn't touch him. I spoke to the player afterwards and asked him if there had been any contact and he said no. I got the slightest of touches on the ball. It wasn't the strongest of touches but, at the same time, I didn't touch the player. I think he was already going down as he was touching the box. The ref gave it and he's not going to change his mind after that. But we've still got a lot to play for in this group and I'm sure we will pick ourselves up for Tuesday's game against Lithuania." There was a huge roar just after the penalty award when Christophe Berra fell when challenged by Roman Hubnik in the visitors box. However, Blom was on hand to book the defender for diving. The Wolves defender said: "I dribbled into the box and I felt contact and went down. I've not seen it on TV but people have said it was a penalty. It's hard for the referees but if he has made contact with me - which he did - it should be a penalty. Their penalty wasn't a penalty. It's disappointing because I think we played well in patches and if we had come off the pitch with a 2-1 win, it would have been a great result. But it was a big game with big decisions and they didn't go our way."


Trending on the forum