Capital One Cup First Round Draw - QPR to face Exeter

17 June 2013 12:35

Newport County were given a glamorous tie away to Brighton in this morning's Capital One Cup first round draw.

QPR, following their relegation from the Premier League, will travel to Exeter City, while Bournemouth and Portsmouth face the prospect of a south-coast derby.

Matches will be played in the week commencing 5 August, with the winners joining the majority of Premier League teams in round two, as well as Reading.

Wigan will enter the competition in round three, along with Swansea and the other Premiership teams competing in Europe.

In further first round action, last season's finalists Bradford will visit West Yorkshire rivals Huddersfield. South Yorkshire meanwhile, will see Rotheram take on Sheffield Wednesday.

Conference Premier champions Mansfield face a trip to Tranmere, while Preston boss Simon Grayson will return to former side Blackpool.

Wolves, following back-to-back relegations, travel to Morecambe, and Leicester, three-time winners of the League Cup, go to Wycombe.

Draw in full:

Bury v Crewe Alexandra

Shrewsbury Town v Bolton Wanderers

Middlesbrough v Accrington Stanley

Doncaster Rovers v Rochdale

Preston North End v Blackpool

Barnsley v Scunthorpe United

Tranmere Rovers v Mansfield Town

York City v Burnley

Notts County v Fleetwood Town

Sheffield United v Burton Albion

Oldham Athletic v Derby County

Carlisle United v Blackburn Rovers

Morecambe v Wolverhampton Wanderers

Nottingham Forest v Hartlepool United

Leeds United v Chesterfield

Huddersfield Town v Bradford City

Rotherham United v Sheffield Wednesday

Port Vale v Walsall

Gillingham v Bristol City

AFC Bournemouth v Portsmouth

Wycombe Wanderers v Leicester City

Brentford v Dagenham and Redbridge

Exeter City v Queens Park Rangers

Charlton Athletic v Oxford United

Southend United v Yeovil Town

Millwall v AFC Wimbledon

Swindon Town v Torquay United

Birmingham City v Plymouth Argyle

Stevenage v Ipswich Town

Cheltenham Town v Crawley Town

Bristol Rovers v Watford

Northampton Town v Milton Keynes Dons

Leyton Orient v Coventry City

Colchester United v Peterborough United

Brighton and Hove Albion v Newport County


Source: DSG