Referees are creatures of habit and Alan Wiley doesn't normally blow his whistle when a goal is scored.
So I'm pretty sure he must have been awarding a penalty for shirt-pulling as Calum Davenport was grabbing at John Utaka just as he struck the equaliser for Portsmouth.
On television, you can clearly hear the whistle blowing before the ball has entered theSunderland net.
The referee has tried to give an advantage by allowing the goal to stand. In law, he is wrong. He is not permitted to do that.
Maybe some people would say in the spirit of the game it is better that he did thatthan give a penalty which could have been missed, but a referee doesn't have the right to follow that course.
In law, once the whistle has blown the ball is dead.