Poland name initial Euro 2012 squad

03 May 2012 12:47

Euro 2012 co-hosts Poland on Wednesday announced their 26-man squad for the tournament, with manager Franciszek Smuda sticking to his pledge not to pull any big surprises.

The only new name on Smuda's list was the uncapped 19-year-old Legia Warsaw midfielder Rafal Wolski while Artur Sobiech, of German club Hanover 96 was recalled to the squad two years after making his debut and which yielded just three caps.

Like fellow hosts Ukraine, Poland have an automatic berth in the tournament, which kicks off on June 8 in Warsaw, and have relied on friendlies to hone their squad.

All 16 teams taking part in Euro 2012 have until the end of this month to announce their final, 23-man squads.

Smuda also held seven players in reserve, saying that while they would not necessarily take part in an upcoming training camp, they would be on standby until the tournament began.


Goalkeepers: Lukasz Fabianski (Arsenal/ENG), Wojciech Szczesny (Arsenal/ENG), Przemyslaw Tyton (PSV Eindhoven/NED)

Defenders: Sebastian Boenisch (Werder Bremen/GER), Kamil Glik (Torino/ITA), Marcin Kaminski (Lech Poznan), Tomasz Jodlowiec (Polonia Warsaw), Damien Perquis (Sochaux/FRA). Lukasz Piszczek (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Marcin Wasilewski (Anderlecht/BEL), Jakub Wawrzyniak (Legia Warsaw), Grzegorz Wojtkowiak (Lech Poznan)

Midfielders: Kuba Blaszczykowski (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Dariusz Dudka (Auxerre/FRA), Kamil Grosicki (Sivaspor/TUR), Adam Matuszczyk (Fortuna Duesseldorf/GER), Adrian Mierzejewski (Trabzonspor/TUR), Rafal Murawski (Lech/Poznan), Ludovic Obraniak (Bordeaux/FRA), Eugen Polanski (Mainz/GER), Maciej Rybus (Terek Grozny/RUS), Rafal Wolski (Legia Warsaw)

Forwards: Pawel Brozek (Celtic/SCO), Michal Kucharczyk (Legia Warsaw), Robert Lewandowski (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Artur Sobiech (Hannover 96/GER)


Goalkeeper: Grzegorz Sandomierski (Jagiellonia Bialystok)

Defenders: Arkadiusz Glowacki (Trabzonspor/TUR), Marcin Komorowski (Legia Warsaw)

Midfielders: Michal Zyro (Legia Warsaw), Ariel Borysiuk (Kaiserslautern/GER)

Fowards: Ireneusz Jelen (Lille/FRA), Arkadiusz Piech (Ruch Chorzow)

Source: AFP