Peru squad for World Cup qualifiers

28 September 2012 08:48

Peru coach Sergio Markarian on Friday called up a 41-man squad for must-win World Cup qualifiers against Bolivia on October 12 in La Paz and Paraguay four days later in Asuncion.

Twenty two of the squad members are used to playing at altitude, with the tie in La Paz to be played at an altitude of 3,650 metres.

"We have to play as if these were our last matches and make the effort to recover the points we lost at home," said Markarian.

Markarian's squad will bid to get acclimatised to altitude during a match to be played on October 1 in the southeastern Peruvian city of Cusco at 3,300 metres.

Peru are seventh in the nine-team South American qualifiers and need to win to keep their bid for a place in the World Cup finals on track.

Goalkeepers: Jose Carvallo (Melgar FBC), Joel Pinto (Sport Huancayo), Diego Penny (Juan Aurich), Raul Fernandez (Nice/FRA)

Defenders: Santiago Acasiete (Cienciano), Rafael Farfan (Sport Huancayo), Joel Herrera (Real Garcilaso), Christian Ramos (San Martin), Jesus Alvarez (Sporting Cristal), Jean Cancar (Cienciano), Cristian Garcia (Cienciano), Luis Advincula (Sporting Cristal), Yoshimar Yotun (Sporting Cristal), Renzo Revoredo (Barcelona/ECU), Alberto Rodriguez (Rio Ave/POR), Carlos Zambrano (Eintratch Frankfurt/GER).

Midfielders: Paulo Albarracin (Alianza Lima), Edwin Retamoso (Cienciano), Juan Cominges (Cienciano), Michael Guevara (Juan Aurich), Christian Cueva (Cesar Vallejo), Juan Carlos Marino (Sporting Cristal), Edson Uribe (Real Garcilaso), Alvaro Ampuero (Universitario), Carlos Lobaton (Sporting Cristal), Josepmir Ballon (San Martin), Rinaldo Cruzado (Chievo/ITA), Paolo Hurtado (Pacos Ferreira/POR), Luis Alberto Ramirez (Corinthians/BRA), Juan Vargas (Genoa/ITA).

Strikers: Joel Sanchez (San Martin), William Chiroque (Juan Aurich), Andy Pando (Real Garcilaso), Jhonny Vidales (Alianza Lima), Irven Avila (Sporting Cristal), Wilmer Aguirre (San Luis/MEX), Andre Carrillo (Sporting Lisbon/POR), Jefferson Farfan (Schalke 04/GER), Paolo Guerrero (Corinthians/BRA), Claudio Pizarro (Bayern Munich/GER), Raul Ruidiaz (Curitiba/BRA).

Source: AFP

Trending on the forum