Cobblers release six from squad

12 May 2010 04:18
Northampton Town midfielder Luke Guttridge is one of six players to be released by the club.The 28-year-old scored four goals in 27 league starts this season. [LNB]Gary Mulligan, Joe Benjamin, John Curtis, Stephen O'Flynn and Alex Dyer will also be leaving Sixfields. [LNB]Craig Hinton, Steve Guinan and Chris McCready have been transfer-listed. [LNB]Top scorer Adebayo Akinfenwa is one of six players considering a new deal. [LNB]Manager Ian Sampson has offered terms to the out-of-contract Akinfenwa, along with Abdul Osman, Andy Holt, Liam Davis, Peter Gilbert and Kevin Thornton. [LNB]But Cobblers assistant manager Malcolm Crosby says the offers will not stay on the table indefinitely. [LNB]"We would like them to sign, but that can be a problem, because we can't be waiting around too long," he told BBC Radio Northampton. [LNB]"It's important we get a settled squad before the end of June at the latest." [LNB]No decision has yet been made on American striker Seb Harris.

Source: BBC_Sport