Pardew: Ref admitted to mistake
The Brazilian only received a yellow card for his fourth-minute challenge on Magpies striker Demba Ba during Saturday's 3-0 Barclays Premier League win for the Blues. A furious Pardew said after the game the official had told him he did not issue a red card because Ba did not have the ball under control when he went to see him at half-time.
However, speaking on Sky Sports' Goals on Sunday show, Pardew said: "I have got no problem with the referee yesterday, he made a mistake. Actually, he has since after the game seen it again and said to me, 'I made a mistake, he should have been sent off'."
He added: "At half-time yesterday, his opinion was different, but his opinion would have been altered if his assistant referee had done his job, in my opinion.
"When I saw the referee at half-time, I said, 'Why did you not send him off?'. He said to me, 'He didn't have control of the ball'.
"Well, how can you have control of the ball when the guy is knocking you over? There is no way the goalie is getting to the ball, but the bigger problem I have got is with the linesman on this occasion, because I was looking at the linesman.
"The linesman can see that - he didn't flag, he didn't go mad, he didn't do anything, so Mike Dean is making that decision from 40 yards away.
"If the linesman is waving his flag and suggesting, 'You know what, this is an incident here', and they have got their little mics...
"It would have altered the game, down to 10 men, Chelsea, the pressure they were under.
"I wouldn't have lost my centre-half to injury because we were forcing the game. I had people charging around trying to get back a situation when we would have been in control of the game. Not only do I lose the game, but I have lost two players through injury. I'm still angry."
Related Newcastle United News