Club Brugge - 'And If You Know Your History'

07 November 2012 01:27
Club Brugge are officially called . Club Brugge Koninklijke Voetbalvereniging. So now you know. FACTS AND FIGURES .

Nickname(s): Blauw-Zwart (Blue-Black), Club, FCB

Founded: November 13, 1891; 121 years ago

Ground: Jan Breydelstadion (Jan Breydel Stadium), Bruges (capacity: 29,472)

Last season: 2011–12 Belgian Pro League, 2nd  Rivals: Club Brugge's major rival is R.S.C. Anderlecht, and it shares the Jan Breydel Stadium with city rival Cercle Brugge K.S.V., with whom they contest the Bruges derby.

Throughout its long history, Club Brugge has enjoyed much European football success, reaching two European finals and two European semi-finals. Club Brugge is the only Belgian club to have played the final of the European Cup (forerunner of the current UEFA Champions League) so far. They were beaten by Liverpool F.C. in the final of its 1978 season. They also lost in the 1976 UEFA Cup Final to Liverpool.

History .

1890: Brugsche Football ClubClub created by old students of the Catholic school Broeders Xaverianen and the neutral school Koninklijk Atheneum.

13 November 1891: Club recreatedThe club was recreated. This has since been adopted as the official date of foundation.

1892: First boardAn official board was installed in the club.

1894: Football Club BrugeoisClub created by 16 old members of Brugsche FC.

1895: Vlaamsche Football Club de BrugesClub created in the city.

1895/1896: the UBSSA set up in 1895. and they went to the UBSSA and took part of the first Belgian national league.

1896: Leaving the UBSSAFinancial it was difficult for FC Brugeois and so after only one year they had to leave the UBSSA.

1897: FusionFC Brugeois joined Brugsche FC but they continued under the name Football Club Brugeois.

1902: New fusionVlaamsche FC joined FC Brugeois.

1912: De KlokkeThey moved to a new stadium named "De Klokke".

1913/1914: First cup finalFC Brugeois reached their first Belgian Cup final but they lost 2–1 from Union SG.

1920: First time league championsThe club became for the first time champions of the first division.

1926: Royal Football Club BrugeoisThe club get number 3 as their matricule number and in the same year they get the royal title.

1928: First relegationA first low when the club was relegated to the second division.

1930: New statutePresident Albert Dyserynck changed the club's statute into a non-profit association.

1931: Albert DyserynckstadionWhen president Albert Dyserynck suddenly died they honoured him by changing the stadium's name into Albert Dyserynckstadion.

1959: Permanent to the first divisionRFC Brugeois promoted to the first division and never relegated again in the future.

1968: First time cup winnersThey won the Belgian Cup for the first time against Beerschot AC (1–1, 7–6 after penalty's).

1972: Club Brugge Koninklijke VoetbalverenigingThe club changed their name into the Flemisch name Club Brugge KV

1975: OlympiastadionThey moved from Albert Dyserynckstadion to Olympiastadion (current Jan Breydelstadion).

1976: Highest position in UEFA CupUnder Austrian coach Ernst Happel, Club Brugge reached the finals of the UEFA Cup and lost against Liverpool (3–2 and 1–1).

1978: Only Belgian European Cup 1 finalistsStill under Ernst Happel, the club faced Liverpool again of a European final. This time it was in the European Champions Clubs' Cup final. And again they lost (1–0). Club Brugge is the only Belgian club that have reached the finals of the European biggest competition.

1992: First goal scorer in the Champions LeagueDaniel Amokachi is the first goal scorer in the Champions League. He scored against CSKA Moskva.

1998: Jan BreydelstadionOlympiastadion had to be expand for the EURO 2000 organisation. They also changed the name into Jan Breydelstadion.

2006: CLUBtvIt was the first Belgian club to create its own TV channel.


DomesticBelgian First Division champions: 131919–20, 1972–73, 1975–76, 1976–77, 1977–78, 1979–80, 1987–88, 1989–90, 1991–92, 1995–96, 1997–98, 2002–03, 2004–05

Belgian Cup winners: 101967–68, 1969–70, 1976–77, 1985–86, 1990–91, 1994–95, 1995–96, 2001–02, 2003–04, 2006–07

Belgian Supercup winners: 131980, 1986, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1998, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005

InternationalEuropean Champion Clubs' Cup quarter finalist: 11976–77

European Champion Clubs' Cup finalist: 11977–78

UEFA Cup finalist: 11975–76

UEFA Cup semi finalist: 11987–88

Bruges Matins winners: 171979, 1981, 1984, 1990, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011

Kirin Cup winners: 11981


Source: Newcastle United Mad