New Zealand World Cup squad announced

10 May 2010 10:42

New Zealand have announced their final squad for the World Cup finals this summer.

They include Aaron Clapham and Winston Reid in the squad for the first time, with both players previously uncapped by the All-Whites.

Six British-based players have been named in Ryan Nelsen (Blackburn), Tommy Smith (Ipswich), Chris Killen (Middlesbrough),Chris Wood (West Brom), Rory Fallon (Plymouth) and Michael McGlinchey (Motherwell).

Reid is based in Denmark, whilst Andy Boyens and Jeremy Christie are based in the United States. All other members of the squad currently ply their trade in Australia or New Zealand.

Simon Elliott and David Mulligan will be looking to make an impression in South Africa, as they are both currently without a club.

New Zealand squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Mark Paston, Glen Moss, James Bannatyne.

Defenders: Ryan Nelsen (Captain), Ivan Vicelich, Ben Sigmund, Winston Reid, Tommy Smith, Tony Lochhead, Andy Boyens.

Midfielders: Simon Elliott, Tim Brown, Leo Bertos, Michael McGlinchey, Aaron Clapham, David Mulligan, Jeremy Brockie, Andy Barron, Jeremy Christie.

Strikers: Chris Killen, Chris Wood, Shane Smeltz, Rory Fallon

Source: DSG