Nigel de Jong does not regret his horror challenge on Spain's Xabi Alonso in the World Cup final.
The Manchester City midfielder booted the Alonso in the chest in the showpiece game in South Africa, and referee Howard Webb has since admitted he should have sent him off.
However, De Jong is quoted in the Sunday Mirror as saying: "I don't regret anything. I never intended to hurt him."
He added: "And after such a great World Cup I came back to the dressing room of Manchester City as a different player. Well, that's how it felt.
"I had just played in the final of the World Cup. It gives you a different status.
"The lads at City said they were impressed with the Dutch team's performances out there in South Africa. That was really nice."