• Date: Mon 05 April 2010
  • Venue: Liberty Stadium
  • Ref: Whitestone, D
  • Attendance: 14,830
Swansea City

Swansea City

Edgar (27)

Williams (51)

Kuqi (80)

3 - 0

Swansea City vs Scunthorpe United

Team Lineups

Swansea City

Dorus de Vries
Ashley Williams
Gary Monk
Angel Rangel
David Edgar
Nathan Dyer
Joe Allen (Lee Trundle, 76)
Mark Gower
David Cotterill
Guillem Bauza (Darren Pratley, 70)
Shefki Kuqi (Gorka Pintado, 84)

Scunthorpe United

Joe Murphy
Marcus Williams, M (Jim McNulty, 46)
Cliff Byrne
Niall Canavan
Michael Raynes
Matt Sparrow (Gary Hooper, 61)
Grant McCann
Garry Thompson
Josh Wright
Donal McDermott
Paul Hayes (Martyn Woolford, 68)

Match Report
Swansea City kept up their play-off hopes with a 3-0 victory over struggling Scunthorpe as the Welsh club secured their first victory in seven games. The goals came from David Edgar in the first half and Ashley Williams and Shefki Kuqi after the break. The Swans also created a new club record with their 23rd clean sheet of the season. Angel Rangel brought a smart save from Iron keeper Joe Murphy in the fourth minute just after Paul Hayes had fired inches wide of the Swansea net. Two minutes later, a cross from Mark Gower was turned onto the crossbar by Kuqi as the Swans piled on the early pressure. The recalled Joe Allen then sent Kuqi unmarked down the middle but he failed to control the ball and Murphy went down to save his low shot. Murphy was back in the action in the 16th minute diving to save a weak header from Guillem Bauza, who was unmarked in the centre of the goal. The goal the Swans deserved came in the 27th minute when Edgar was left unmarked at the far post to head in a David Cotterill corner after Kuqi's faint touch on. Bauza missed another chance from a central position just before the break when he sent a snap-shot wide after the visitors defence had failed to clear. Five minutes after the break the Swans doubled their lead and once again it came from a Cotterill corner. The Iron defence had plenty of time to clear the ball but it bounced around their goal until Williams stuck out a foot to poke it into the net. It was one-way traffic and a Cotterill cross was turned goalwards by Kuqi only for Murphy to turn and gather before it crossed the line. Nathan Dyer smashed in a shot but Murphy reacted smartly to clutch and one minute later he had another effort cleared off the line by Michael Raynes after Kuqi had broken away and passed inside. Kuqi made it three in the 80th minute when Raynes headed a cross into his path and he ran on to easily beat Murphy with a low shot. The nearest the Iron came to troubling the home goal came in the 86th minute when Josh Wright hit the top of the crossbar with a free-kick.
Live Text Commentary
Full time

That's it, it's all over, the referee has blown the final whistle.


Shefki Kuqi is replaced by Gorka Pintado.


Goal!! Shefki Kuqi scores for Swansea.


Joe Allen is replaced by Lee Trundle.


Guillem Bauza is replaced by Darren Pratley.


Scunthorpe are replacing Paul Hayes with Martyn Woolford.


Matthew Sparrow is being taken off, Gary Hooper has come on in his place.

Yellow Card

The referee has booked Jim McNulty.


Goal!! Swansea have scored with Ashley Williams putting it in the back of the net.

Second half

The second half is under way with the score currently at 1 v 0.


Scunthorpe are replacing Marcus Williams with Jim McNulty.

Half time

Half time whistle is blown by D Whitestone


Goal!! Swansea have scored with David Edgar putting it in the back of the net.


It's 3pm on Monday, April 5th, the match has kicked off.

Awaiting Kickoff

Swansea face Scunthorpe at 3pm on Monday, April 5th.