• Date: Sat 27 March 2010
  • Venue: Liberty Stadium
  • Ref: Pawson, C
  • Attendance: 14,902

Swansea City vs Ipswich Town

Team Lineups

Swansea City

Dorus de Vries
Ashley Williams
Alan Tate
Angel Rangel
David Edgar
Leon Britton (Lee Trundle, 75)
Darren Pratley
Andrea Orlandi (Joe Allen, 66)
Cedric van der Gun
Nathan Dyer (Mark Gower, 46)
Shefki Kuqi

Ipswich Town

Brian Murphy
David Wright
Damien Delaney
Gareth McAuley
Grant Leadbitter
David Norris
Jaime Peters
Jack Colback
Shane O'Connor (Carlos Edwards, 57)
Jon Walters
Daryl Murphy

Match Report
Swansea's disappointing form continued and for the third home game in a row they failed to find the net following a goalless draw with Ipswich Town. A lack of goals has proved costly for them throughout the season and they desperately need to re-discover their form in front of goal as they enter the final weeks. They included Burnley loan signing David Edgar at centre-back for his debut and Alan Tate was skipper in the absence of Gary Monk, while in goal for the Tractor Boys was former Swan Brian Murphy. The Swans opened up the visitors defence in the third minute but, when Cedric van der Gun crossed along the byline after receiving from Andrea Orlandi, Nathan Dyer failed to get a touch at the far post and the chance was lost. The impressive van der Gun then split the Ipswich defence again on the half hour when his slide-rule pass set Angel Rangel heading into the danger area but Damien Delaney managed to block the full-back's route to goal. The Tractor Boys first goal attempt came in the 39th minute when Grant Leadbitter found space only to fire straight at Dorus de Vries in the home goal. Swansea made a change at the break with Mark Gower replacing Dyer but it was van der Gun on the opposite wing who was causing the Ipswich defence most trouble with his darting runs. A cross from Gower was headed over by Shefki Kuqi on the hour as Swansea began to look more threatening up front and then Ashley Williams was inches wide with a glancing header from Orlandi's free-kick. Swansea boss Paulo Sousa brought Joe Allen and Lee Trundle into the fray but still the visitors prevented any of the smooth passing game that Welsh club have become known for throughout the Championship. A mistake by David Wright gifted the Swans a corner five minutes from time but they were unable to take advantage and their last chance of a goal came from a corner which Kuqi headed just wide.
Live Text Commentary
Full time

That's it, it's all over, the referee has blown the final whistle.


Swansea are replacing Leon Britton with Lee Trundle.


Swansea are replacing Andrea Orlandi with Joe Allen.


Shane O'Connor is replaced by Carlos Edwards.


Nathan Dyer is being taken off, Mark Gower has come on in his place.

Second half

The second half is under way with the score currently at 0 v 0.

Half time

Half time whistle is blown by C Pawson

Yellow Card

Darren Pratley goes into the referee's book for unsporting behaviour.


It's 3pm on Saturday, March 27th, the match has kicked off.

Awaiting Kickoff

Swansea face Ipswich at 3pm on Saturday, March 27th.