• Date: Sat 06 February 2010
  • Venue: Glanford Park
  • Ref: Tierney, P
  • Attendance: 7,543
1 - 2
Crystal Palace

Crystal Palace

Ambrose (63)

Danns (90)

Scunthorpe United vs Crystal Palace

Team Lineups

Scunthorpe United

Joe Murphy
Marcus Williams, M
Cliff Byrne
Rob Jones
David Mirfin
Sam Togwell (Michael O'Connor, 82)
Grant McCann
Garry Thompson (Jonathan Forte, 70)
Donal McDermott (Brendan Moloney, 78)
Paul Hayes
Gary Hooper

Crystal Palace

Julian Speroni
Nathaniel Clyne
Clint Hill
Matt Lawrence (Lee Hills, 90)
Danny Butterfield (Kieran Djilali, 64)
Claude Davis
Shaun Derry
Darren Ambrose
Neil Danns
Nick Carle
Alan Lee (Calvin Andrew, 74)

Match Report
Midfielder Neil Danns snatched a dramatic winner three minutes into stoppage time to make it three victories on the trot for Crystal Palace since going into administration as they won 2-1 at Scunthorpe United. It was real smash-and-grab stuff by the Londonders who played second fiddle for an hour. But Scunthorpe, who finished the match with ten men, were left to rue a series of early missed chances on. They dominated the first half, but could not find their finishing touch, squandering a succession of good chances. First, new signing Donal McDermott, on loan from Manchester City, fluffed his lines when he sliced his shot wide at the far post. Then midfield man Grant McCann spooned a close-range effort over the bar and finally skipper Cliff Byrne stabbed a close-range shot wide of the far post with the goal at his mercy. Little was seen of Palace as an attacking force, as they looked a shadow of the side that knocked Wolves out of the FA Cup in midweek. A tame effort from striker Alan Lee was the best they had to show for their efforts in the opening 45 minutes. Scunthorpe continued to press in the second half, but it was Darren Ambrose who rifled Palace ahead with an angled shot into the far corner following their first corner of the game. Nine minutes later Scunthorpe were reduced to ten men when full-back Marcus Williams was red carded for his challenge on substitute Kieran Djilali. Centre-back David Mirfin thought he had rescued a point for Scunthorpe in the 84th minute with a thumping near-post header from a corner. But Danns popped up deep into stoppage time to fire a low shot into the bottom far corner of the net to seal another victory for in-form Palace.
Live Text Commentary
Full time

That's it, it's all over, the referee has blown the final whistle.


Goal!! Crystal Palace have scored with Neil Danns putting it in the back of the net.


Matt Lawrence is replaced by Lee Hills.

Yellow Card

The referee has booked Claude Davis.


Goal!! Scunthorpe have scored with David Mirfin putting it in the back of the net.


Sam Togwell is being taken off, Michael O'Connor has come on in his place.

Yellow Card

Cliff Byrne goes into the referee's book for unsporting behaviour.


Scunthorpe are replacing Donal McDermott with Brendan Moloney.


Alan Lee is replaced by Calvin Andrew.

Red Card

It's red. He's off. Marcus Williams has been sent off.


Scunthorpe are replacing Garry Thompson with Jonathan Forte.


Danny Butterfield is being taken off, Kieran Djilali has come on in his place.


Goal!! Darren Ambrose scores for Crystal Palace.

Yellow Card

Matt Lawrence goes into the referee's book for unsporting behaviour.

Yellow Card

The referee has booked Rob Jones.

Second half

The second half is under way with the score currently at 0 v 0.

Half time

Half time whistle is blown by P Tierney

Yellow Card

Paul Hayes is booked for dissent.

Yellow Card

Shaun Derry is booked for dissent.

Yellow Card

Danny Butterfield goes into the referee's book for unsporting behaviour.

Yellow Card

Alan Lee goes into the referee's book for unsporting behaviour.


The ref has blown his whistle and the match has started.

Awaiting Kickoff

Scunthorpe face Crystal Palace at 3pm on Saturday, February 6th.