• Date: Sat 24 April 2010
  • Venue: Deepdale
  • Ref: Hegley, G
  • Attendance: 14,926

Preston North End vs Leicester City

Team Lineups

Preston North End

Andy Lonergan (Wayne Henderson, 46)
Callum Davidson
Sean St Ledger
Billy Jones
Tom Williams
Elliott Ward
Keith Treacy (Neil Mellor, 66)
Matty James
Ross Wallace
Danny Mayor
Jon Parkin (Chris Brown, 66)

Leicester City

Chris Weale
Michael Morrison, M (Nolberto Solano, 36)
Wayne Brown
Bruno Berner
Jack Hobbs
Andy King
Lloyd Dyer (Nicky Adams, 71)
Jay Spearing
Martyn Waghorn
Paul Gallagher
James Vaughan (Dany N'Guessan, 83)

Match Report
Leicester City secured a play-off place with a 1-0 win at Deepdale against Preston North End. Preston left-winger Ross Wallace received his 12th yellow card of the season in the 20th minute for a foul on Michael Morrison. The first booking of the afternoon by referee Grant Hegley of Hertfordshire. Preston goalkeeper and Player-of-the-Year Andy Lonergan made a great one-handed save to his right from a 12-yard scissor kick by Jack Hobbs following a free kick after 31 minutes. Wallace went down with a groin injury in the 34th minute with Preston in possession and the referee awarded an uncontested drop ball to Leicester. Former Preston loan player Paul Gallagher punted it up field from deep into his own half in an attempt to give possession back to North End. But the ball sailed over the back-pedalling Lonergan and into the net, the referee quickly disallowed it. Gallagher retook it with power and Lonergan tipped it on to the post. Nolberto Solano replaced the injured Morrison in the 36th minute. Preston substitute keeper Wayne Henderson replaced Lonergan at half-time after he sustained a groin injury. Henderson and Elliott Ward bumped into each other and James Vaughan put the ball into the back of the net. However, the referee quickly blew his whistle and ruled out the goal. Ward was booked in the 56th minute for a foul on Martyn Waghorn. Andy King made it 1-0 to Leicester in the 63rd minute when he picked up the ball from Sean St Ledger, ran through the defence and struck the ball into the bottom right corner of the goal from just inside the area. Neil Mellor and Chris Brown replaced Keith Treacy and Jon Parkin in the 65th minute. In the 70th minute Nicky Adams replaced Lloyd Dyer. Vaughan ran through the heart of the PNE defence but Henderson was quick off of his line and blocked the shot well in the 76th minute. Dany N'Guessan replaced Vaughan in the 82nd minute. Waghorn had a shot saved from Adams' cross after 83 minutes. Preston captain Callum Davidson was named as man-of-the-match. N'Guessan had a shot saved after 88 minutes. Three minutes were added.
Live Text Commentary
Full time

The ref has blown his whistle for full time.


James Vaughan is replaced by Dany N'Guessan.


Lloyd Dyer is replaced by Nicky Adams.


Preston are replacing Jon Parkin with Chris Brown.


Preston are replacing Keith Treacy with Neil Mellor.


Goal!! Andy King scores for Leicester.

Yellow Card

The referee has booked Elliott Ward.

Second half

The second half is under way with the score currently at 0 v 0.


Preston are replacing Andy Lonergan with Wayne Henderson.

Half time

Half time whistle is blown by G Hegley


Michael Morrison is replaced by Nolberto Solano.

Yellow Card

Ross Wallace goes into the referee's book for unsporting behaviour.


It's 3pm on Saturday, April 24th, the match has kicked off.

Awaiting Kickoff

Preston face Leicester at 3pm on Saturday, April 24th.