• Date: Sat 13 February 2010
  • Venue: The Walkers Stadium
  • Ref: Phillips, D
  • Attendance: 21,626
Leicester City

Leicester City

Morrison, M (6)

Gallagher (16)

Gallagher (25)

Waghorn (34)

Gallagher (73)

5 - 1

Leicester City vs Scunthorpe United

Team Lineups

Leicester City

Chris Weale
Michael Morrison, M (Nolberto Solano, 61)
Wayne Brown
Bruno Berner
Jack Hobbs
Matty Oakley (Yann Kermorgant, 61)
Andy King
Lloyd Dyer
Richie Wellens
Martyn Waghorn
Paul Gallagher (Dany N'Guessan, 83)

Scunthorpe United

Joe Murphy
Marcus Williams, M
Rob Jones
David Mirfin
Michael Raynes
Sam Togwell
Grant McCann
Michael O'Connor
Josh Wright
Paul Hayes
Gary Hooper

Match Report
Leicester City celebrated the third anniversary of Milan Mandaric's takeover of the club with a stunning 5-1 win over lowly Scunthorpe. Paul Gallagher, nicknamed 'Jedward' by his team-mates who reckon he's a dead ringer for the warbling twins from X-Factor, stole the show with a hat-trick. It was the first time City had scored five goals or more since their move to the Walkers Stadium in 2002. It was also the Foxes' biggest win since they beat Sunderland 5-2 at Filbert Street in March 2000 with three goals from Stan Collymore and Emile Heskey. There were chances for both sides inside the first two minutes when Lloyd Dyer drove straight at the keeper from 10 yards before Chris Weale denied Gary Hooper after Scunthorpe had broken quickly. But it was City who made their next chance count with Michael Morrison heading home Martyn Waghorn's in-swinging corner in the sixth minute. And the Foxes doubled their lead on 16 minutes when Matty Oakley and Dyer combined to set up Gallagher, who scored with an 18-yard shot which left the keeper stranded after it deflected off Scunthorpe defender Marcus Williams. United were denied a way back on 20 minutes when Weale twisted in mid air to palm away a goalbound header from Rob Jones. City then put the game beyond the visitors with a third goal on 25 minutes when Gallagher curled a 18-yard free kick around the defensive wall and inside Joe Murphy's far post. And it was four for Leicester on 34 minutes when a half-cleared Gallagher cross fell to Waghorn, who had time to control the ball before lashing it home from 10 yards. Scunthorpe pulled a goal back on 55 minutes when Sam Togwell helped on Paul Hayes' goalbound shot. But Gallagher scored his third and Leicester's fifth on 75 minutes when, from a Richie Wellens cross, he looped a clever back-header over the advancing keeper.
Live Text Commentary
Full time

That's it, it's all over, the referee has blown the final whistle.


Leicester are replacing Paul Gallagher with Dany N'Guessan.


Goal!! Leicester have scored with Paul Gallagher putting it in the back of the net.


Leicester are replacing Matty Oakley with Yann Kermorgant.


Michael Morrison is being taken off, Nolberto Solano has come on in his place.


Goal!! Paul Hayes scores for Scunthorpe.

Second half

The second half is under way with the score currently at 4 v 0.

Half time

Half time whistle is blown by D Phillips


Goal!! Martyn Waghorn scores for Leicester.


Goal!! Leicester have scored with Paul Gallagher putting it in the back of the net.


Goal!! Paul Gallagher scores for Leicester.


Goal!! Michael Morrison scores for Leicester.


It's 3pm on Saturday, February 13th, the match has kicked off.

Awaiting Kickoff

Leicester face Scunthorpe at 3pm on Saturday, February 13th.