skip to content


Manchester United Football Club

  • Nickname:Red Devils
  • Founded:1878
  • Manager:Louis van Gaal
  • Ground:-
  • Capacity:0
Next Game: 04-Mar-2015 19:45
Manchester United


Newcastle United
Full match preview
Last Game: 28-Feb-2015 15:00
Manchester United2


Full match report

Ronaldo leads award shortlist

11 Apr 2008 - 12:25:29

Cristiano Ronaldo faces competition from Arsenal duo Cesc Fabregas and Emmanuel Adebayor, Liverpool's Steven Gerrard and Fernando Torres and Portsmouth's David James for the PFA Players' Player of the Year award.

The Manchester United winger is a strong favourite to claim the award for the second successive season after scoring 37 goals so far this season in all competitions.

The 23-year-old Portugal international, who was also named the PFA Young Player of the Year last season, has broken George Best's 40-year club record of 32 goals for United during a stunning season.

"The debate about whether he's as good as George Best will go on and on, but for him to have broken George's goalscoring record from a wide position is phenomenal - as are those incredible free-kicks he practices tirelessly," PFA chief executive Gordon Taylor told the association's website.

Taylor was also full of praise for veteran Portsmouth and England goalkeeper James, who was a surprise inclusion on the six-man shortlist.

"It is a tribute to David that keepers are rarely nominated, but he fully deserves to join this elite list because he continues to be a top class keeper - the most consistent in the Premier League this season - and an excellent role mode," he added.

Meanwhile, Ronaldo, Fabregas and Torres have also been nominated in the young player category.

Other names in the running for that award are Aston Villa pair Gabriel Agbonlahor and Ashley Young, plus Manchester City defender Micah Richards.

Related Manchester United News

Add Your Comment

Return to top

*All fields required, your email address will be kept private