- Manchester United News
- League Table
- News Archive
- Premier League News
Ronaldo: Ref was wrong
04 Dec 2007 - 07:55:15
Manchester United's Cristiano Ronaldo refused to condemn referee Rob Styles' decision not to award him a penalty against Fulham but has insisted he is not a diver.
The Portuguese winger scored both goals in Monday evening's 2-0 victory over the Cottagers at Old Trafford.
However, he was denied a hat-trick after being booked in the 79th minute after Styles ruled he dived over Fulham goalkeeper Antti Niemi.
United boss Sir Alex Ferguson hit out at the decision after the full-time whistle and Ronaldo has also suggested it was a poor call by the controversial official.
Styles earned the wrath of Liverpool back in August after awarding Chelsea a highly-debatable penalty during a 1-1 draw at Anfield.
"I try to do my job and I try to play honestly," claimed Ronaldo, who took his season's tally to 13 goals in all competitions with the brace.
"I respect the referee's decision but I do not have the same opinion because I thought it was a penalty.
"If you see the replay, the goalkeeper never touched the ball, so it is frustrating the referee gave me a yellow card."