skip to content

Rio wants defenders hailed as Vidic pushes for Player of the year award

26 Mar 2009 15:29:07

Rio wants defenders hailed as Vidic pushes for Player of the year award

Manchester United captain Rio Ferdinand has demanded that a defender lifts the PFA Player of the Year award - and claims team-mate Nemanja Vidic deserves the prize. The prestigious award is usually given to an attacking player and only two defenders - John Terry (2004-05), Paul McGrath (1992-93) - have won the award in the Premier League era. But Ferdinand told "I think Vida will be in the running for Player of the Year. He's probably been our most consistent player along with Ryan (Giggs) and Edwin (van der Sar). Red Devils: Rio Ferdinand hitches a ride on defensive partner Nemanja Vidic after United score against Inter Milan 2008 winner: Cristiano Ronaldo 'Those three are probably our stand-out players of the season in terms of consistency. 'The attackers normally get the accolades and the adulation so it would be nice to see a defender win it. 'JT [John Terry] won it a few years ago, but over the years not many centre halves have won it. So it would be good to have a defender win.' Vidic has continued the outstanding form that took United to domestic and European glory last season, establishing a solid partnership with Ferdinand at the heart of defence. The 27-year-old has also chipped with seven goals in United's 2008-09 campaign although, with six bookings and three red cards in all competitions, his disciplinary record could improve. PFA PLAYER OF THE YEAR WINNERS2009 - TBC 2008- Cristiano Ronaldo, Man Utd 2007- Cristiano Ronaldo, Man Utd 2006- Steven Gerrard,Liverpool 2005- John Terry, Chelsea 2004- Thierry Henry, Arsenal 2003- Thierry Henry, Arsenal 2002 - Ruud Van Nistelrooy, Man Utd 2001- Teddy Sheringham, Man Utd 2000 -Roy Keane, Man Utd 1999- David Ginola, Tottenham Hotspur 1998- Dennis Bergkamp, Arsenal 1997- Alan Shearer, NewcastleUnited 1996- Les Ferdinand, Newcastle United 1995- Alan Shearer, Blackburn Rovers 1994- Eric Cantona, Man Utd 1993 - Paul McGrath, Aston Villa 1992- Gary Pallister, Man Utd 1991 - Mark Hughes, Man Utd 1990- David Platt, Aston Villa 1989- Mark Hughes, Man Utd 1988- John Barnes, Liverpool 1987- Clive Allen, Tottenham Hotspur 1986 - Gary Lineker, Everton 1985- Peter Reid, Everton 1984 - Ian Rush, Liverpool 1983- Kenny Dalglish, Liverpool 1982- Kevin Keegan, Southampton 1981 - John Wark, Ipswich Town 1980- Terry McDermott, Liverpool 1979 - Liam Brady, Arsenal 1978- Peter Shilton, NottinghamForest 1977- Andy Gray, Aston Villa 1976- Pat Jennings, Tottenham 1975- Colin Todd, DerbyCounty 1974- Norman Hunter, Leeds United  Ronaldo targets move to Madrid but don't worry United fans - it's only his latest fashion boutiqueFootball fashion parade: Hits and big misses as Man Utd, Liverpool, Chelsea and Arsenal's new kits for next season are leakedCalm down! 'Crazy' Rooney and Cole warned as Capello clamps downSportsmail's Star of the Season: Vote for your Premier League team's player of the season - the revised short lists!MANCHESTER UNITED FC


Sponsored links