skip to content

McLeish Not Happy With Referee

More

16 Apr 2012 13:09:15

McLeish Not Happy With Referee

Aston Villa boss Alex McLeish said that Ashley Young got away with one after he controversially won Manchester United a penalty for the opening goal in a 4-0 romp.

He looked like he wanted to add more but fear of repercussions got the better of him after the game at Old Trafford on Sunday.

Seven days earlier there had been another argument involving Young, this time it was about how easily he went down under a challenge from QPR’s Shaun Derry.

In fairness it didn’t take much of a challenge from Villa’s Ciaran Clark to make Young drop, leaving the ref with a decision to make, which went United’s way.

McLeish was slightly fed up because Villa teenager Samir Carruthers was booked for diving at Anfield last week when TV replays indicated he had been fouled by Daniel Agger, and McLeish said: "It's a debate that comes up every now and again. Our kid got booked last week and Ashley got away with it this week.

"How does a ref know when he has dived? Ashley got away with that one today when he put his foot into Ciaran.

"It is hard to say to the ref that he totally got it wrong because it is a split-second. But I didn't think it was a penalty.

"Ashley threw his leg into Ciaran Clark's leg and Ciaran was static. He planted his feet firmly on the ground. He then tries to pull his leg away.

"Some other people may disagree but I felt it was a very soft decision."


FOOTYMAD

Sponsored links

advertisement

Related Manchester United News

advertisement

advertisment