Ballack makes Evra admission
Michael Ballack admits he "blocked" Patrice Evra in the build-up to Chelsea's controversial second goal during their Community Shield victory over Manchester United at Wembley. The Germany captain was also "happy" referee Chris Foy did not blow for a foul as Chelsea went on to score through Frank Lampard while Evra lay hurt on the ground. Chelsea eventually won the game 4-1 on penalties after it finished 2-2 in normal time but United boss Sir Alex Ferguson was adamant Foy should have sent off the Chelsea substitute for the use of an elbow. Ballack declared: "I have to be happy the referee didn't blow because maybe I blocked him a little bit. "If the referee gives a foul it would have been okay as well but he decided not to. It was a bit unlucky after that because they conceded the goal. I kept on playing but then I didn't have the ball so I couldn't see how injured he was."
Related Manchester United News