PFA Announce nominees for 2013 player awards

19 April 2013 12:09

The season is drawing to a close and the nominees for the 2013 PFA Players' Player of the Year have officially been announced.

The PFA Players' Player of the Year is an annual award given to the player who is adjudged to have been the best of the year across all the professional leagues in England. There has been no shortage of worthy contenders, however six names have now been short-listed as stand-out performers this season.

 Tottenham Hotspurs Gareth Bale, a previous winner in 2011 has been nominated for both Players' Player and Young Player of the Year. He is joined by Chelsea's Eden Hazard who is also nominated in both categories for the prestigious award. Hazards Chelsea team mate Juan Mata is also a contender for the Players' Player award. On-loan Chelsea forward Romelu Lukaku is nominated for the Young Players award after a successful spell at West Brom.

Manchester United duo Michael Carrick and Robin van Persie are nominated for the Players' Player award, whilst team mate Danny Welbeck is in the running for the Young player of the Year award for the second successive season.

Liverpool's Luis Suarez completes the list for the Players' Player of the Year award. Whilst Aston Villa's Christian Benteke and Arsenal's Jack Wilshere are nominated for the Young Player of The Year award. This year also sees the inaugural PFA Women's Players' Player of the Year Award feature at the PFA Awards which will be held on April 28th 2013. The Arsenal Ladies dominate the category with Kim Little, Jordan Nobbs and Gemma Davison all contenders for the award. Everton Ladies Toni Duggan is also on the short-list. Birmingham City Ladies Jodie Taylor is also running along with Bristol Academy Women's Jessica Fishlock.

Nominations for PFA Players' Player of the Year 2013

Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur)

Michael Carrick (Manchester United)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

Juan Mata (Chelsea)

Luis Suarez (Liverpool)

Robin van Persie (Manchester United)

Nominations for PFA Young Player of the Year 2013

Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur)

Christian Benteke (Aston Villa)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)

Danny Welbeck (Manchester United)

Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)

Nominations for PFA Women's Players' Player of the Year 2013

Gemma Davison (Arsenal Ladies)

Toni Duggan (Everton Ladies)

Jessica Fishlock (Bristol Academy Women)

Kim Little (Arsenal Ladies)

Jordan Nobbs (Arsenal Ladies)

Jodie Taylor (Birmingham City Ladies)

Source: DSG

World Cup Group G

Belgium 1 0 0 3 3
England 1 0 0 1 3
Tunisa 0 0 1 -1 0
Panama 0 0 1 -3 0
Last updated : 08:44