Everything you need to know about the PFA Player of the Year awards

13 April 2017 09:24

The shortlists for the 2017 PFA awards were announced on Thursday morning.

Here, we look at some interesting information on past winners of the awards.

  • Andy Gray, Cristiano Ronaldo and Gareth Bale are the only three men to win the senior and young player of the year awards in the same season, achieving the feat in 1977, 2007 and 2013 respectively.
  • No Englishman has won the senior men's player of the year award since Wayne Rooney in 2010.
  • Eric Cantona became the first recipient of the senior men's award from outside the UK and Ireland when he was voted the top player by his peers in 1994.
  • Former Leeds defender Norman Hunter was the very first recipient of the PFA men's player of the year award in 1974.
  • Kim Little, then with Arsenal, was the winner of the inaugural PFA women's player of the year award in 2013.
  • Luis Suarez became the first non-European to win either the men's senior or young player of the year award, when the Uruguayan was voted best senior player in 2014.
  • Riyad Mahrez's success in 2016 made him the first African to win the player of the year prize.
  • Ji So-yun became the first non-British winner of the women's player of the year prize, with Chelsea's South Korean midfielder or forward triumphing in 2015.
  • Manchester United can lay claim to the most PFA men's senior player of the year prizes, with 11. Liverpool are second on the list with six.
  • Tottenham have won four out of the last five PFA men's young player of the year awards - Kyle Walker in 2012, Gareth Bale in 2013, Harry Kane in 2015 and Dele Alli in 2016. Only Chelsea's Eden Hazard (2014) has interrupted Spurs' winning streak.
  • Martha Harris became the first winner of the women's young player of the year prize, the Liverpool defender picking up the award in 2014.

Source: PA