Cech heroics give Chelsea victory

10 August 2009 08:43
Petr Cech was Chelsea's hero as they won the Community Shield 4-1 on penalties against Manchester United at Wembley following a 2-2 draw in normal time. Goalkeeper Cech saved superbly to deny Ryan Giggs and Patrice Evra in the shoot-out, earning Chelsea a 4-1 spot-kick triumph after Frank Lampard, Michael Ballack, Didier Drogba and Salomon Kalou netted. Michael Carrick was the only United player to convert. The Blues trailed to a Nani strike at half-time but equalised through Ricardo Carvalho six minutes after the break. A controversial Lampard goal put Chelsea ahead with 20 minutes remaining, but Rooney equalised for United in injury time before Carlo Ancelotti's side prevailed in the shootout. United took the lead with their first real attack of the game in the 10th minute. Darren Fletcher's sublime cross-field pass was collected by Nani and the Portugal winger beat Ivanovic and Michael Essien before sending a 25-yard drive beyond Cech and into the far right corner. Chelsea replaced the struggling Branko Ivanovic with Jose Bosingwa at the start of the second half, and equalised in the 52nd minute through Carvalho's diving header. Lampard and Florent Malouda had combined on the left and when the winger sent over a volleyed cross, Drogba and Foster collided as they went for the ball. Foster's attempted clearance fell straight to Carvalho who dived to head the Blues level from eight yards. The London outfit took the lead in controversial circumstances in the 70th minute after Ballack appeared to elbow Patrice Evra. While the United player was down Chelsea broke away and Drogba's pass to Lampard allowed the England midfielder space to beat Foster with a crisp drive. The ball struck the inside of the left post and bounced over the line before spinning back out, however it was clearly a legitimate goal. With seconds remaining Rooney broke clear of the Chelsea defence and slipped the ball beyond Cech for a dramatic equaliser, but United were not so clinical in the shoot-out.

Source: Eurosport