Manchester City star Nasri was red-carded on Saturday after reacting angrily to a challenge from Canaries defender Bassong at Carrow Road. And Pilkington has defended his team-mate by claiming it was not a foul and suggesting that Nasri over-reacted to the situation.
"I think Nasri put his head into Seb and the linesman has seen it, not the referee," said Pilkington, quoted in The Sun.
"I didn't think it was a foul. Seb won the ball - maybe he has lifted his leg up as he came through - but the surface was wet out there.
"Nasri had a few of his lads behind him.
"I am sure he wouldn't have done it if he wasn't on the football pitch."