Brendan Rodgers says Luis Suarez's handball against Mansfield was not deliberate
06 January 2013 07:04
Liverpool boss Brendan Rodgers admits his side may have been a little fortunate to be awarded the second goal in their 2-1 FA Cup win at non-league Mansfield.
Debutant Daniel Sturridge gave the Reds an early lead before substitute Luis Suarez appeared to handle the ball before doubling the advantage, a goal which proved crucial when Matt Green pulled one back for Mansfield.
However, Rodgers pointed out that the officials saw the Suarez handball and ruled that it was not intentional.
"I've just seen it again and there's no doubt it was handball, but the referee and the officials ruled it wasn't deliberate," he said.
"I spoke to the fourth official when it was given because I couldn't see and he said it was (handball), so I can only assume they thought it wasn't deliberate.
"Obviously it was unfortunate for Mansfield and lucky for us that we got the goal, but it was a really professional performance from us."
When it was suggested that Suarez should have admitted the handball to the referee, Rodgers added: "It's not Luis' job to do that.
"It's not deliberate, as it's pushed up and hit his hand. It's up to the officials to decide that.
"That's why they get paid as officials and I thought Andre Marriner was brilliant today.
"Maybe when you lose the game you look back on it and think it was unfortunate. We missed many more chances to put the game to bed but we got a wee bit of luck there, so it's something we'll take and move on."