Not a perfect 10 for Leicester after 10-man Millwall dump them out of FA Cup

18 February 2017 05:54

Leicester made 10 changes to their starting line-up as they crashed out of the FA Cup to 10-man League One side Millwall.

Demarai Gray was the only survivor from Claudio Ranieri's starting line-up from the defeat to Swansea as the Italian made Premier League survival the priority for last season's shock champions.

But there was further misery for the Foxes as they failed to reach the quarter-finals despite Millwall having Jake Cooper sent off early in the second half, Shaun Cummings' late goal seeing the Lions through.

The Premier League and Championship teams in action on Saturday afternoon all made several changes, but none matched the Foxes.

Burnley earlier made only six alterations but a relatively strong line-up was not enough to save them from defeat to non-league Lincoln in the first tie of the round.

Tom Heaton, Michael Keane, Ashley Westwood, Joey Barton and Andre Gray kept their places in Sean Dyche's team but they were dumped out by Sean Raggett's late goal.

Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola made eight changes from Monday's win over Bournemouth as his side were held by Huddersfield. Defenders John Stones and Aleksander Kolarov and midfielder Fernandinho remained in a strong team which featured starts for striker Sergio Aguero and goalkeeper Claudio Bravo.

In the evening kick-off at Molineux, Chelsea boss Antonio Conte made seven changes against Wolves but retained front three Diego Costa, Eden Hazard and Willian and recalled club captain John Terry in defence.

City and Chelsea's Championship opponents made seven and five changes respectively.

Wolves' tally was the lowest among clubs in the top two tiers as Middlesbrough boss Aitor Karanka made six changes, Calum Chambers, Bernardo, Fabio, Adam Clayton and Adama Traore all keeping their places for the dramatic 3-2 win over Oxford.

Changes made by Premier League and Championship clubs in FA Cup fifth round:

10 - Leicester

8 - Manchester City

7 - Chelsea, Huddersfield

6 - Burnley, Middlesbrough

5 - Wolves

Source: PA