No Action Taken Against Bothroyd
Cardiff City striker Jay Bothroyd has escaped punishment for his tackle on Luciano Becchio during Monday night's 4-0 npower Championship win over Leeds. Bothroyd appeared to catch Becchio on the shin with a late challenge during the first half, although the Leeds striker was able to play out the match. The tackle went unpunished at the time and the Football Association of Wales have also decided against taking any action, because the referee had seen the challenge. "Retrospective action can only be taken where an incident has not been seen by the match officials," an FAW statement read. "If the match officials have seen an incident such as the coming together of two players in a challenge then it is not possible to intervene retrospectively. "FIFA's clear stance is that incidents seen at the time should not be "re-refereed" - even where it is perceived by others that match officials have made an incorrect judgement of an incident. "As the result of relevant consultations the Football Association of Wales has decided not to take any further action against Jay Bothroyd."
Related Leeds United News