Low makes surprise selection

06 May 2010 12:25
Germany coach Joachim Low has raised eyebrows after naming two uncapped defenders in his provisional World Cup squad. Hamburg's Dennis Aogo and Bayern Munich full-back Holger Badstuber have both been included in a provisional 27-man squad for South Africa. Aogo, who is of Nigerian descent, has won 24 under-21 caps, while 21-year-old Badstuber has come to the fore during Bayern's impressive Bundesliga and Champions League campaigns this season. Elsewhere, Low has also included veteran Bayern Munich goalkeeper Hans-Jorg Butt after losing number one after Rene Adler to injury earlier in the week. Provisional Germany World Cup squad: Goalkeepers: Hans-Jorg Butt, Manuel Neuer, Tim Wiese Defenders: Per Mertesacker, Heiko Westermann, Philipp Lahm, Jerome Boateng, Andrea Beck, Arne Friedrich, Serdar Tasci, Marcell Jansen, Holger Badstuber, Dennis Aogo. Midfielders: Michael Ballack, Sami Khedira, Piotr Trochowski, Marko Marin, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Christian Trasch, Mesut Ozil, Toni Kroos. Forwards: Lukas Podolski, Miroslav Klose, Stefan Kiessling, Cacau, Thomas Muller, Mario Gomez.

Source: ESA