Porto win 27th Portuguese title

20 May 2013 11:53

FC Porto captured their 27th Portuguese league title on Sunday after beating Pacos de Ferreira 2-0.

It was also a third championship in a row and ninth in 11 years.

A Lucho Gonzalez penalty in the 23rd minute and a 51st-minute strike from Jackson Martinez secured the title.

Benfica beat Moreirense 3-1 to finish second, one point behind their bitter rivals.

Pacos were third but 23 points behind Benfica.

"It's a victory for the best team. I am proud of the players' character," said Porto coach Vitor Pereira.

"FC Porto are a quality team who believe in themselves. We are deserving winners."

For Benfica, it was a second setback in the space of four days after they had lost 2-1 to Chelsea in the Europa League final.

Source: AFP