Cup draw favours England

04 December 2009 06:33
England have been drawn with the USA, Algeria and Slovenia in Group C for next summer's World Cup finals in South Africa. Fabio Capello's side will open their bid for glory in Rustenburg on Saturday June 12 against the USA, who reached the final of the Confederations Cup in South Africa earlier this year, where they were edged out 3-2 by Brazil. Six days later England face Algeria in Cape Town and their Group C campaign is completed by a meeting with Slovenia in Port Elizabeth on Friday June 23. Should England progress, they will face either the winners or the runners-up from Group D, which features Germany, Australia, Ghana and Serbia. The opening game on the tournament will see hosts South Africa take on Mexico in Johannesburg on Friday June 11. Group A: South Africa, Mexico, Uruguay, France. Group B: Argentina, South Korea, Nigeria, Greece. Group C: England, USA, Algeria, Slovenia. Group D: Germany, Australia, Ghana, Serbia. Group E: Netherlands, Japan, Cameroon, Denmark. Group F: Italy, New Zealand, Paraguay, Slovakia. Group G: Brazil, North Korea, Ivory Coast, Portugal. Group H: Spain, Honduras, Chile, Switzerland.

Source: ESA

World Cup Group G

Belgium 1 0 0 3 3
England 1 0 0 1 3
Tunisa 0 0 1 -1 0
Panama 0 0 1 -3 0
Last updated : 08:57