Dundee manager Smith confused by spot-kick decision
Dundee manager Barry Smith called for clarity over the advantage rule after Jon Daly's penalty put the city derby beyond them as Dundee United claimed a 3-0 victory over their neighbours.
Daly took his second chance to beat Rab Douglas when referee Willie Collum penalised Gary Irvine for a foul on Stuart Armstrong after the Dundee United midfielder had cut the ball back for the Irishman to shoot into the goalkeeper's hands. Willo Flood wrapped up the three points in the latter stages after Keith Watson's header had given United the lead.
Smith said: "I thought we started well. Obviously the first goal is a mistake. We started the second half well again but major decisions have gone against us. I think it has to be cleared up. There are too many grey areas and that's the problem. What's a penalty and when is it a penalty? When do you stop playing advantage?"
The Dundee boss continued: "You can't let him shoot and then pull him back. It's either advantage or a penalty - it can't be both. We need to get that sorted out. We are having a meeting and hopefully it can get ironed out."
Smith would not expand on the meeting but some SPL managers are due to hold talks with Scottish Football Association compliance officer Vincent Lunny on Monday to seek clarity over what they are allowed to say in the media. Smith revealed he had not approached Collum for an explanation.
"No point," he said. "Some of them don't give respect back. Football's a heated game, they say we don't give them respect. Not all of them, there are a lot of good referees, but some of them don't give respect back."
Smith added: "That major decision's gone against us. Up to that point in the second half we were probably in control and creating chances. They have won the game but did they deserve to win 3-0? I don't think so."
Peter Houston felt United's win was "thoroughly deserved" and also disagreed with his opposite number's view on the penalty decision.
He said: "I thought when you wipe someone out in the penalty box it's a penalty kick? Daly got a shot in but Armstrong didn't get the contact he wanted on the cross. He got wiped out.
"We have had it against us and (here) it went for us. The referee made the right decision and a brave decision."
Related Dundee United News