Rams appeal Bywater charge

19 April 2007 07:17
Derby County goalkeeper Stephen Bywater has denied an FA charge of improper conduct relating to his sending-off in the 2-1 defeat at Ipswich Town. Bywater won an appeal against his initial red card for a clash with Alex Bruce, but still faces a disciplinary hearing next week over the flare-up between the pair as they left the pitch at Portman Road. Rams boss Billy Davies told the club's official website: "I said at the time that both players did not deserve red cards, and I have been proved right. Common sense has prevailed. "Having Stephen available to face Luton is excellent news and now we will appeal against his second charge. "The whole thing could have been avoided. The referee should have shown yellow cards and defused the situation."

Source: ESA