skip to content

Debate: Has a linesman's mistake cost Manchester United the title?

03 Apr 2010 15:55:10

Debate: Has a linesman's mistake cost Manchester United the title?

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has admitted Chelsea are now the strong title favourites after today's 2-1 victory at Old Trafford. But was Chelsea's victory a result of their superior performance, or simply down to an official's mistake? Didier Drogba was clearly in an offside position when freed by Saloman Kalou's short through ball. The referee's assistant despite having a perfect view allowed play to continue and Drogba fired home to give Chelsea a 2-0 lead. Defeat sums up West Bromwich Albions season, says manager Tony MowbrayManchester Uniteds Premier League title challenge will falter in TokyoManchester United 1 Birmingham City 0: match report "What I can't understand is the linesman's directly in front of it," said Ferguson. "He has no one near him and he gets it wrong. "A game of that magnitude, you really need quality officials and we didn't get them today. It was a poor, poor performance." Is Ferguson right to be so furious? Or were Chelsea still good value for their win? And where does today's result leave the title race? Will Chelsea slip-up in the final furlong? Have your say below ...


Telegraph

Sponsored links

advertisement

Related Chelsea News

advertisement

advertisment