Debate: Has a linesman's mistake cost Manchester United the title?

03 April 2010 03:55
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has admitted Chelsea are now the strong title favourites after today's 2-1 victory at Old Trafford. But was Chelsea's victory a result of their superior performance, or simply down to an official's mistake? [LNB]Didier Drogba was clearly in an offside position when freed by Saloman Kalou's short through ball. The referee's assistant despite having a perfect view allowed play to continue and Drogba fired home to give Chelsea a 2-0 lead. [LNB]Defeat sums up West Bromwich Albions season, says manager Tony MowbrayManchester Uniteds Premier League title challenge will falter in TokyoManchester United 1 Birmingham City 0: match report "What I can't understand is the linesman's directly in front of it," said Ferguson. "He has no one near him and he gets it wrong. [LNB] "A game of that magnitude, you really need quality officials and we didn't get them today. It was a poor, poor performance." [LNB]Is Ferguson right to be so furious? Or were Chelsea still good value for their win? And where does today's result leave the title race? Will Chelsea slip-up in the final furlong? [LNB]Have your say below ...[LNB]

Source: Telegraph