Blues begin with Watford tie

29 November 2009 04:47
Chelsea's FA Cup defence will begin with a home tie against Championship side Watford following the draw for the third round of this year's competition. The Blues were 3-1 winners over the same opposition in last year's fifth round as former interim manager Guus Hiddink began a reign which ended in final glory at Wembley in May with a 3-1 victory at Vicarage Road. Elsewhere, Arsenal have been handed an all-Premier League tie against London rivals West Ham United. Aston Villa host Blackburn Rovers and Hull City travel to Wigan Athletic in two more all top-flight clashes. Eleven-time winners Manchester United lie in wait for the victor of the Leeds United versus non-league Kettering Town replay following Sunday's 1-1 second-round draw between the two sides. Blue Square South outfit Staines Town are the lowest ranked team still left in the competition and will be at home to Championship side Derby County should they overcome Millwall in a replay. All the ties will be played over the weekend of January 2/3. Full FA Cup third round draw: Tottenham v Peterborough United, Brentford v Doncaster Rovers, Middlesbrough v Manchester City, Stoke City v York City, Notts County v Forest Green Rovers, Huddersfield Town v West Bromwich Albion, Sheffield United v QPR, MK Dons v Burnley, Chelsea v Watford, Nottingham Forest v Birmingham City, Preston North End v Colchester United, West Ham United v Arsenal, Aston Villa v Blackburn Rovers, Portsmouth v Coventry City, Sunderland v Oxford United or Barrow, Wigan Athletic v Hull City, Everton v Carlisle United, Sheffield Wednesday v Crystal Palace, Tranmere Rovers or Aldershot Town v Wolves, Blackpool v Ipswich Town, Fulham v Swindon Town, Stockport County or Torquay v Brighton, Scunthorpe United v Barnsley, Southampton v Rotherham United or Luton Town, Bristol City v Cardiff City, Reading v Liverpool, Staines Town or Millwall v Derby County, Plymouth Argyle v Newcastle United, Leicester City v Swansea City, Bolton Wanderers v Lincoln City, Accrington Stanley or Barnet v Gillingham, Manchester United v Kettering Town or Leeds United.

Source: ESA