Ballack admits to referee blunder
Germany captain Michael Ballack knew his 30-yarder that set his nation on the way to victory over Wales should not have been allowed.And the Chelsea man has revealed he was aware that Wales had been denied a throw-in before he unleashed his shot that set-up a 2-0 World Cup qualifying victory in Cardiff on Wednesday.Wales are still fuming over the injustice following a clear mistake from referee Terje Hauge - with striker Robert Earnshaw insisting the Norwegian official had "killed" his side.Before Ballack's long-range effort the ball had gone out of play for what was quite clearly a Welsh throw-in. But the Germans took the throw-in themselves and the referee waved play on, allowing Ballack to fire home from long range."Yes, I was told it was a Wales throw in prior to my goal. But that is the way things go sometimes in this game. And it is history now," Ballack said."I did strike the ball well for the shot and I am very pleased with the goal."Wales played a very good game against us and made it tough without any doubt."They had not had a great game in their last time out against Finland and they wanted to improve on that, and I think they did that against us."Boss John Toshack slammed the official, claiming: "You would not see a decision as bad as that on a Cardiff public park."Earnshaw, winning his 43rd cap, led the protests on the pitch and was still fuming afterwards.He said: "The referee has killed us basically. It was quite clearly a throw-in to us and the referee let the Germans take it and just waved play on and they have scored a goal."Wales should also have had a penalty when Serdar Tasci handled in the box, and Earnshaw added: "And that was clearly a penalty. I cannot believe it was not given."If those decisions had gone for us we might have had a chance of getting something out of the game."Although, saying that, the Germans played very well. I have played against them a few times now and I think that was the best I have seen them play."
Related Chelsea News