Cumbrians too hot for MK Dons

21 August 2010 05:38
Carlisle swept to a 4-1 win over MK Dons thanks to goals from Francois Zoko, James Berrett, Gary Madine and Tom Taiwo. Peter Leven did score for the visitors but it was just a consolation. Charlton and Oldham shared a 1-1 draw with Scott Wagstaff scoring for the hosts and Dean Furman for the visitors. Jason Jarrett was sent off late on for Oldham for two yellow cards. A John O'Flynn penalty in the 75th minute secured a point for ten-man Exeter City at home to Bristol Rovers. Daniel Nardiello had opened the scoring for the Grecians before Jo Osei-Kuffour and Will Hoskins turned the game around to give the visitors a 2-1 lead they would hold for 21 minutes. Craig Westcarr scored the only goal of the game to give Notts County a narrow win over Dagenham and Redbridge. Peterborough came from two goals down to beat Huddersfield 4-2. An Aaron McLean brace and further goals from George Boyd and Craig Mackail-Smith cancelled out efforts from Jordan Rhodes and Graham Carey. Goals from Andrew Bond and Ian Henderson gave Colchester a 2-1 away win at Rochdale. Craig Dawson leveled for Rochdale after 47 minutes but Henderson struck late on to secure the win. Giles Coke scored the only goal of the game to secure all three points for Sheffield Wednesday against Brighton. Two goals in the opening 15 minutes was all the game between Southampton and Leyton Orient could muster. Rickie Lambert opening the scoring for Saints before Terrell Forbes levelled things soon after. Swindon's David Prutton and Charlie MacDonald of Brentford scored the goals in a 1-1 draw at the County Ground. Bournemouth breezed past Tranmere Rovers 3-0 with the goals coming from Josh McQuoid, Michael Symes and a Marc Pugh penalty. Walsall came from a goal down to beat Plymouth at home. Joe Mason opened the scoring for the visitors before Paul Marshall and Reuben Reid turned things around for the hosts. In the day's final encounter, Gary Liddle and Andy Monkhouse scored the goals that gave Hartlepool a 2-0 away win over Yeovil Town.

Source: ESA