Wallace, the half hour star against Watford

17 November 2010 11:45
Ross Wallace has struggled to make an impact at Burnley since his arrival from Championship strugglers Preston, although in fairness that's mainly been because of him suffering an injury in the draw at Crystal Palace in September. Jay Rodriguez came on for him and such has been Jay's form that Wallace has since had to accept a substitute role in the league. He's had few opportunities to stake a claim for a return, that was until last Saturday, when, with Burnley trailing 2-1 against Watford, he was introduced along with Steven Thompson.There were 24 minutes remaining but with some eight minutes or so added time he got over half an hour and such was his impact that he's gone on and won the man of the match vote and the player ratings.With virtually his first touch he got in a superb cross, and he followed that up by volleying in the equaliser before playing the ball in to Jay Rod for the penalty.It's not often a substitute takes the honours although it is not unique and Wallace took the man of the match with a 27.6% of the vote. It was a close run thing that saw Jack Cork come second with 25.2% and left-back Brian Easton, deputising for Danny Fox, third with 18.1% of the vote.Wallace had a player rating of 7.57 out of 10 and that put him ahead of goalkeeper Lee Grant whose rating was 7.14. Cork was again in the top three; this time coming third with a rating of 6.95 out of 10.That gives Wallace six points, to add to the two he's previously won. There are three points for Cork, and a significant three points, two for Grant and one, his first, for Easton. Those points for Cork are significant because they have taken him to the top of the Player of the Year table, overtaking previous leader Chris Eagles by two points.The next vote will be the man of the match from Saturday's game at Coventry and that will be available around an hour after the final whistle.Clarets Mad Player of the Year43: Jack Cork41: Chris Eagles30: Andre Bikey25: Clarke Carlisle17: Wade Elliott13: Chris Iwelumo11: Lee Grant & Brian Jensen10: Tyrone Mears9: Dean Marney8: Michael Duff & Ross Wallace6: Martin Paterson5: Jay Rodriguez3: Leon Cort2: Steven Thompson1: Graham Alexander, Brian Easton & Danny Fox