Second manager of the month award for Dyche

08 November 2013 06:12
Having become the first Burnley manager to be nominated in three successive months for the manager of the month award, Sean Dyche has become the first Burnley manager to win it in two successive months.

He was one of the four nominees in August, losing out to Paul Ince, but won the award in September after steering the Clarets to the brink of the top of the Championship.

Top spot came on the first day of October, a month that saw us win all four league games and go into November with a three point lead at the top.

That has deservedly won him the award for the second time and in doing so he has doubled the number of occasions a Burnley manager has taken this award since it was resurrected in its current guise ahead of the 2004/05 season.

Chairman of the judging panel, Alan Curbishley, said: "Sean Dyche deservedly wins this award for the second consecutive month.

"The 100% record in October rightly puts his side top of the Sky Bet Championship."

Prior to Dyche our only winners had been Steve Cotterill in October 2006 when we won 14 points from six games, and Owen Coyle in September 2008, a month which brought us 13 points from five games.

In its previous guise all of Jimmy Adamson, Harry Potts and Stan Ternent were winners with Adamson winning it in August 1972, the first month of the season, and donating his prize, which was whisky, to the fans.

In winning this current award  for a second successive month Dyche joins a select group of managers that have achieved that in the Championship. Neil Warnock was the first at Sheffield United and he repeated it as QPR boss. The four other managers to win successive awards are Steve Coppell and Brian McDermott (Reading), Roy Keane (Sunderland) and Chris Hughton (Newcastle).

Source: Clarets Mad